Summer organic chemistry 2 at NYU syllabus


Text: Maitland Jones, Organic Chemistry

Jones, Gingrich, and Fleming Study Guide/Solutions Manual for

TENTATIVE SCHEDULE

DATE DAY CHAPTER

July 08 Monday Chap 13 Dienes and the Allyl System

read sections 13.1-13.10, 13.13

July 09 Tuesday Chap 14 Aromaticity read sections 14.1-14.8, 14.12-14.14

Chap 15 Substitution reactions of Aromatic Compounds

July 11 Thursday Chap 15 Substitution Reactions of Aromatic Compounds continued

Read sections 15.1-15.8, 15.13

July 15,16 Monday,Tues Chap 16 Carbonyl Chemistry 1:Addition Reactions

Read sections 16.1-16.15, skim 16.16, read section 16.17

July 17 Wednesday Chap 16 Carbonyl Chemistry 1:Addition Reactions continued

July 18 Thursday EXAM I

July 22 Monday Chap 17 Carboxylic Acids, read sections 17.1-17.7, skim section 17.8

July 24 Wednesday Chap 18 Derivatives of Carboxylic Acids: Acyl Compounds

Read sections 18.1-18.12, read the Baeyer-Villiger reaction and

read the Hofmann Rearrangement

July 25 Thursday Chap 18 Derivatives of Carboxylic Acids: Acyl Compounds continued

July 29 Monday Chap 19 Carbonyl Chemistry 2: Reactions at the alpha position

Read sections 19.1-19.9, 19.15

July 30 Tuesday Chap 19 Carbonyl Chemistry 2: Reactions at the alpha position continued

July 31 Wednesday Chap 19 Carbonyl Chemistry 2: Reactions at the alpha position continued

Aug 01 Thursday EXAM II

Aug 05 Monday Chap 09 Spectroscopy review

Aug 06 Tuesday Special Topics

Aug 07 Wednesday Chap 20 Carbohydrates, read sections 20.1-20.7

Aug 08 Thursday Chap 20 Carbohydrates continued

Aug 12 Monday Chap 20 Carbohydrates continued

Aug 13 Tuesday Chap 22 Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins read sections 22.1-22.7

Aug 14 Wednesday Chap 22 Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins continued

Aug 15 Thursday FINAL EXAM

THE GRADE FOR THIS COURSE IS BROKEN DOWN AS FOLLOWS: 1STEXAM 21%, 2NDEXAM 21%, FINAL EXAM 33%, QUIZZES 5%, LAB 20%. QUIZZES WILL BE GIVEN DURING THE RECITATIONS. PLEASE ATTEND YOUR ASSIGNED RECITATION.

At Transformation Tutoring, our organic chemistry tutor, Mayya, is an NYU honors graduate with a chemistry major. We are ready to help our NYU students ace their classes and make organic chemistry fun. Please call 646-407-9078 to schedule your session today!

#organicchemistry

10 views

Recent Posts

See All

Live Online Chemistry Classes

Transformation Tutoring is happy to offer live online group chemistry classes for the 2020-2021 school year. Classes are : Honors SAT Subject Chemistry and Introduction to Organic Chemistry. Classes w